h1

2009: What a year

January 5, 2010

HELLO!! Ahh wow I really fell off on the updatin’ because of assorted holidays and festivities. I apologize. But I am back now. O:)

So, it’s 2010. That means it’s time to look back and evaluate 2009 in various ways. I think the easiest way is to consult my top 15 scrobbled artists on last.fm, which I think turned out pretty accurately, though it doesn’t account for the hundreds of vinyl albums I listened to this year.

2009 was pretty much the year of BLOGS and VINYL for this lady (also, the year I fell hard for disco. SO HARD.) There is so much good freakin stuff out there!! Here’s to many more in 2010. I do feel this list is somewhat weighted toward things I listened to heavily at the beginning of the year, but that’s aight. Also quite a few Coachella bands, so that always helps.

TOP LAST.FM MOST LISTENED ARTISTS 2009

15. Sebastien Tellier – 87 plays scrobbled

sebtell

I got a couple of really cool SebTell remixes this year, and he played at Coach. Plus he’s a cooldude. A few favorites of the year:

Kilometer (A Trak Main)

Roche (Breakbot remix)

14. Natalie Portman’s Shaved Head – 188 plays

portman npsh

I enjoyed NPSH way more than I expected to! Their album came out in 2008, but I am behind the times a lil bit.

Also, there’s a lot going on in this video!

13. Midnight Juggernauts – 209 plays

mj

They didn’t have an album come out this year (sadly) but they had some awesome remixes as well, and several that got major action on my gym playlist 😉 Can’t wait to hear more from these dudes.

Road to Recovery (Miami Horror remix)

Into the Galaxy (Danger remix)

Twenty Thousand Leagues (Bag Raiders Remix)

12. The Presets – 237 plays

The Presets 2

Another Coachella band that I fell in love with all over again, The Presets rocked HARD this year. I listened to their LP record of Apocalypso a ton as well, so they definitely deserve a spot on this list.

Check out this video… it’s prettty intense.

11. Hercules and Love Affair – 239 plays

arjanwrites_hercules_joiceiacono

Another one where I was slightly behind the times.. I think I actually gave them a listen because of Pitchfork’s Best of 2008 list, haha. Also thought they were going to play @ Coach, but they cancelled, sadly. Anyway! I had a lot of good times listening to this album. I still *really* want to get the LP… urge to steal from EJ rising… 😉

This is a strange video for a really cool song. But it’s also kinda neat.

Check out bands 10-6 tomorrow!

Leave a comment