h1

Whoah, Barretso

February 25, 2010

I’ve been meaning to post about this since I first discovered, but I suck at posting and am good at being busy, so there you have it. BETTR LATE THAN NEVR.

barretso

Barretso is, to put it lightly, an electro wizard (from Chile). His EP ‘Bright City Lights’ is going to drop soon and man, I tell you… I have not yet heard one song or remix (either by him or of him) that did not rock my proverbial boat, HARD. Since the start of the year, the blogs have all been chiming in to sing his praises, and I’m sure not going to be the one that breaks that trend.

Sometimes different parts remind me of some of my other favorite electronic artists – the dark videogame dankness of Danger, the funky rolling beats of the Twelves, the relentless overdrive of MSTRKRFT… and sometimes the magical musical alchemy of my precious Miami Horror. It all makes for a truly delightful aural experience.

Barretso has burst onto the scene pretty damn hard and I think we’ll be seeing and hearing a lot more from him, which can only mean great things. (Plus, if Barretso and I got married, I would only have to add ‘-so’ to my last name, tee hee. Well, and ditch one of my T’s, if you want to be technical.)

Barretso – Midnight Walk

Barretso – We Won’t Stop (KOLT13 remix) – This one is my favorite. It’s a killer (in the good way)

Astro – Hongo Atomic (Barretso remix)

Check out Barretso on HypeM to hear even more fabulous songs and remixes.

Leave a Reply

